Choosing A Diet And Moving Through Changes

So..a lot has happened over the past few months. Everything started when I was let go from my county job and has changed more times than a hipster at a square dance. (not sure how funny that is but the visual amused me in any case. I mean have you ever tried square dancing? It’s pretty tough). Now where was I…oh yeah. Happenings and goings on. So to start, I am now officially in my “dirty 30’s”. My birthday was June 6 and I, like the little kid that I am, went to the Wildlife World Zoo and Aquarium with my girlfriend. I also went to see Insidious 3 with my Fiance and a week later he and I went to see Butterfly Wonderland. Every bit of them was well worth the trip. I quite enjoyed feeding the birds at the zoo. And I got to pet some young llamas and stingrays. Butterfly Wonderland is apparewntly one of the biggest butterfly atriums in the US. I couldn’t walk 2 steps without one flying in front of me. Sadly my phone died so I didn’t really get much for pictures. But I will have a  picture of me and my fiance on my instagram or twitter with a fake rainforest. It was all really fascinating.

Let’s see…I ventured in to the world of the census, working as an enumerator. So that was an experience..a very hot experience here in lovely 100+ degree Arizona. I had to miss a day here and there due to the heat. That ended yesterday. Anythinbg else…hmm..well if you follow me on twitter or instagram, you’ll know I went to the Phoenix comicon last month. Though lucky me..I got sick right before it and have been fighting a cough on and off since. It’s rather annoying really. Other than that I am still doing captioning and going about my days as per usual. Oh! I am going to be going to school for Social Work in the fall. Getting my BSW. It will take 2 years to get it finished but I’m diving right in to the major classes. I’m glad I finally looked into social work. I’d thought about it before and talked myself out of it..but I know this is what I am looking for. I have spent years trying to feed that need I have to take care of people and help them. Call centers were a poor way to fill that void, helping people in little things here and there. It was never all that rewarding. In Social Work, however I use the degree, I can actually make a difference in lives. I can see the results. Whether I become an advocate for families with a disabled relative, or helping kids make their way through the foster system. I want to be the person that helps people to make a change in their life, even if I am just that friendly social worker who helped someone find a place to call home..or whatever. lol So yeah..here’s hoping I can find a job like that.

Also..for years I have been wanting to see The Phantom Of The Opera live on stage. It has not come to Arizona at Gammage in quite a long time. I was torn, because all I could think was that my uncle was not here to see it with me. It made me really miss him. I wasn’t sure I’d get to see it. But then my girlfriend’s mom ended up having tickets she couldn’t use. Lo and behold..I got to see it afterall. I admit that I got a bit weepy at the begininng, overwhelmed with emotion that now, years later I was finally seeing this show. It was a beautiful show. And I love S for taking me. I’m glad I had her with me, because the burst of emotion was so overwhelming. I’d give anything to go to another show with my uncle.

Now in my previous posts I have been mentioning wanting to make a change. There has been just too much going on for me to get on the diet/fitness train..but now I am ready. I have decided to start off with the Atkins diet and see where I go from there. If I can get through Phase 1, I will continue on with that. If not..I’m open to suggestions. And in fact, I have created my first ever poll in order to get recommendations. So if you would be so kind, I’d love some feedback on the diets you all have tried.

I’m a bit ashamed to put up my current weight and stats..but I’ll be doing that in the next few days. I look forward to hearing about all of your diet ventures. Thank you in advance and as always, keep making that fat cry!

-Aubrey

Leave a comment